Art Galleries fight to reopen

Galeries Bartoux supports the action of the Professional Committee of Art Galleries which has just lodged an appeal so that art galleries are included among the establishments authorised to receive the public in the same way as auction houses or bookshops.

The Comité Professionnel des Galeries d’Art (Professional Committee of Art Galleries) lodged an appeal with the Conseil d’Etat on Thursday 25 March in response to the provisions of Decree no. 2021-296 of 19 March 2021, so that, on the one hand, art galleries are included among the establishments authorised to receive the public – in the same way as voluntary sales companies – and, on the other hand, that their activity falls within the scope of those permitting the reception of the public, in the same way as bookshops and record shops. 

Since 28 November 2020, art galleries have been one of the very few places to participate in maintaining artistic and cultural life in France in the service of greater accessibility to culture. 

The CPGA therefore denounces a general and absolute ban on art galleries which seriously undermines several fundamental freedoms: freedom of expression and the free communication of ideas, freedom of artistic creation and dissemination, and freedom of access to cultural and artistic works, as well as freedom of enterprise and freedom of trade and industry and the right to the free exercise of a profession, all informed by the principle of equality. 

>> PRESS RELEASE – 26th MARCH 2021

LES GALERIES D’ART SE BATTENT POUR ROUVRIR

Les Galeries Bartoux soutiennent l’action du Comité Professionnel des Galeries d’Art qui vient de déposer un recours afin que les galeries d’art figurent parmi les établissements autorisés à accueillir du public au même titre que les Maisons de ventes ou les librairies.

Le Comité Professionnel des Galeries d’Art a déposé jeudi 25 mars un recours en Référé-Liberté auprès du Conseil d’État en réaction aux dispositions du décret n°2021-296 du 19 mars 2021, afin que, d’une part les galeries d’art figurent parmi les établissements autorisés à accueillir du public – au même titre que les sociétés de ventes volontaires – et d’autre part, que leur activité relève de celles permettant l’accueil du public, au même titre que les libraries et les disquaires. 

Depuis le 28 novembre 2020, les galeries d’art ont fait partie des très rares lieux à participer au maintien de la vie artistique et culturelle en France au service d’une plus grande accessibilité à la culture. 

Le CPGA dénonce donc une interdiction générale et absolue visant les galeries d’art qui porte gravement atteinte à plusieurs libertés fondamentales : tant la liberté d’expression et la libre communication des idées, la liberté de création et de diffusion artistiques, et la liberté d’accès aux oeuvres culturelles et artistiques, que la liberté d’entreprendre et la liberté du commerce et de l’industrie ainsi que le droit au libre exercice d’une profession, le tour éclairé par le principe d’égalité. 

>> COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE – 26 MARS 2021